Phone: 612-624-5551
24-hr number: 612-293-0831

Advanced Search

This is an archived story; this page is not actively maintained. Some or all of the links within or related to this story may no longer work.

For the latest University of Minnesota news, visit Discover.


Awards given out as par of the University's Academy of Distinguished Teachers.

Every year, the University honors faculty members with distinguished teaching awards. Recipients, who are recognized for their contributions to graduate or undergraduate education, are inducted into the U's Academy of Distinguished Teachers.

Teachers of distinction

From eNews, April 1, 2004

Philip Baird starts every class with a smile. "If the students aren't smiling, I make sure they are within the first few minutes, and at least once or twice more during the rest of the class," he says. Baird, an associate professor of natural resources on the Crookston campus, is one of 13 faculty members who will be inducted into the University's Academy of Distinguished Teachers on Monday, April 26. Five other Award for Outstanding Contributions to Undergraduate Education recipients will join Baird at the induction ceremony from 3:30 to 6:30 p.m. at the McNamara Alumni Center on the Twin Cities campus in Minneapolis. (The event is free and open to the public.) They are Pieranna Garavaso, a humanities professor at UMM; Howard Mooers, an associate professor of geological sciences at UMD; Claudia Neuhauser, an ecology, evolution, at UMTC, and behavior professor; and John Watkins, an English professor, at UMTC. The award was established in 1965 to recognize faculty members who can make an undergraduate's time at the University unforgettable. During the award ceremony, recipients of the U's Award for Outstanding Contributions to Graduate and Professional Education will also be recognized. They are Kristin Anderson, associate professor of epidemiology; James Carey, associate professor of physical therapy; Susan Galatowitsch, associate professor of horticultural science; Glenn Giesler, neuroscience professor; Mats Heimdahl, associate professor of computer science and engineering; Cynthia Peden-McAlpine, associate professor of nursing; Kathryn Sikkink, political science professor; and Madelon Sprengnether, English professor. All are based on the Twin Cities campus. This award honors faculty members for excellence in instruction, developing instructional programs, and advising and mentoring students. Both distinguish teaching awards are sponsored by the University's Senate Committee on Educational Policy, the University of Minnesota Alumni Association, and the Office of the Executive Vice President and Provost. To learn more about the award recipients or to register to attend the induction ceremony, see

Related Links