Phone: 612-624-5551
24-hr number: 612-293-0831

Advanced Search

This is an archived story; this page is not actively maintained. Some or all of the links within or related to this story may no longer work.

For the latest University of Minnesota news, visit Discover.


Austrian consul general Elisabeth Kehrer and three recipients of Austrian medals of honor, Weiss, Krauss-Christensen, and Good.

On behalf of the Federal Republic of Austria, Elisabeth Kehrer, Austrian consul general, Chicago (left), presented medals of honor to Gerhard Weiss, Barbara Krauss-Christensen, and David Good, all key figures in the University s Center for Austrian Studies.

Faculty and staff: November 2004

By Gayla Marty

From Brief, November 3, 2004

Medals of honor from the Federal Republic of Austria were awarded to two faculty members and a recently retired staff member in October, all active participants in the University's Center for Austrian Studies. Elisabeth Kehrer, Austria's consul general in Chicago, came to Minneapolis to bestow the medals. David Good, professor of history and director of the Center for Austrian Studies from 1990 to 1996, received the Grand Decoration of Honor in Silver for Services to the Republic of Austria. Gerhard Weiss, professor emeritus of German, Scandinavian, and Dutch, was honored with the Austrian Cross of Honor for Science and Art, First Class. Barbara Krauss-Christensen, the center's executive secretary from 1978 to 2004, was awarded the Austrian Cross of Honor for Science and Art. For more information, see the news release or the Center for Austrian Studies Web site.

McKnight Presidential Leadership Chair awards, created to recognize significant contributions of outstanding leaders at the University, were announced October 5. Recipients are Frank Cerra, senior vice president for health services; Charles Muscoplat, vice president for agricultural policy and dean of the College of Agricultural, Food, and Environmental Sciences; Deborah Powell, dean of the Medical School; James Riehl, dean of the College of Science and Engineering, Duluth; and Steven Rosenstone, dean of the College of Liberal Arts. Riehl was recognized by the Board of Regents when they met in Duluth October 8; the others will be recognized at the regents meeting in November. For more information, see the news release.

The College of Continuing Education (CCE) 2004 Distinguished Teaching Award winner is Patricia Brown, Department of Theatre and Dance. The award recognizes excellence in CCE instruction, commitment to CCE student growth and development, and accessibility to CCE students. Brown will receive the award at CCE's annual celebration November 4 at the McNamara Alumni Center.

The North Central College Health Association (NCCHA) awarded the Gail Profitt Award to Ed Ehlinger, director of Boynton Health Service, Twin Cities campus, at its annual meeting in October. The award recognizes unique service, posture, or expertise brought to the field of serving the health needs of students. Ehlinger also gave the keynote for the conference on the essential role of college health services, which he said can serve as a model for other providers and health systems with effective and cost-beneficial ways of addressing current health issues. "After he gave his presentation--which ended with an Ed-original song--the audience leapt to their feet to give him a standing ovation," said Dave Golden, Boynton's director of public health, marketing, and program development. For more information, see "Annual Meeting" on the NCCHA Web site.

Fulbright Scholar Grants have been awarded to Twin Cities campus faculty members Teri Caraway, political science (Indonesia, 2004-05); Catherine Liu, cultural studies and comparative literature (Taiwan, 2004-05); and David Samuels, political science (Brazil, March to August 2005). Caraway's research topics are authoritarian legacies, dual transition, and the dilemmas of labor's democratic failure. Liu will lecture on cultural and literary theory. Samuels will lecture and conduct research on campaign finance and democracy in Brazil. For more information about the Fulbright program, see the Council on International Educational Exchange (CIES) Web site.

The National Academies named 39 educators as education fellows and 18 as education mentors in the life sciences. Fellows include Twin Cities campus faculty members Mark Decker, biology, and Susan Wick, plant biology. Mentors include Robin Wright, genetics, cell biology, and development. The program recognizes innovative approaches to teaching undergraduate biology. For more information, see the news release.

The Carlson School of Management named a new president and welcomed six new members to its board of overseers October 22. Skip Gage, Gage Marketing Group, who has served on the board since 2001, became chairman. New members are Lisa Ferris, RBC Dain Rauscher; Jay Fishman, The St. Paul Travelers Companies; John Hammergren, McKesson Corp.; Jeff Noddle, Supervalu; Tom Staggs, Walt Disney Company; and Bill Zollars, Yellow Roadway Corp. For more information, see the news release.

The Republic of Finland knighted William Hoglund, a major donor to the University's Immigration History Research Center, in a ceremony October 28. Finland's consul general to the United States bestowed the White Rose Medal for meritorious service to the nation. Hoglund is an author of books on Finnish immigration and a retired faculty member of the University of Connecticut. For more information, see the news release.

Send items for this periodic summary to Gayla Marty at