Phone: 612-624-5551
24-hr number: 612-293-0831

Advanced Search

This is an archived story; this page is not actively maintained. Some or all of the links within or related to this story may no longer work.

For the latest University of Minnesota news, visit Discover.


New and returning regents

From eNews, February 24, 2005

Last Wednesday (February 16), the Minnesota Legislature appointed four candidates to the University of Minnesota Board of Regents. Dallas Bohnsack was reappointed for the 2nd Congressional District, David Larson was appointed for the 3rd Congressional District, Anthony Baraga was reappointed for the 8th Congressional District, and Steve Hunter was appointed to an at-large seat. Each regent will serve a six-year term effective upon election.

Larson and Hunter, who are both U alums and first-timers on the Board of Regents, replaced Maureen Reed and William Hogan. Larson is an executive vice president for Cargill, Inc., while Hunter is the secretary treasurer for the Minnesota American Federation of Labor-Congress of Industrial Organizations.

University regents are selected through an interview process conducted by the Regent Candidate Advisory Council, which was established by a Minnesota statute in 1988 to advise the legislature on the election of University of Minnesota regents. (The council interviewed 17 applicants and recommended nine for the four recent vacancies.)

The 12-member Board of Regents is the University's governing body. The legislature elects one regent from each of Minnesota's eight Congressional districts and four from the state at large. One of the four at-large regents must be a University student at the time of election. Regent terms are staggered, with one third of the board up for election every two years.

The Board of Regents meets monthly (except for January and August) on the second Friday and the preceding Thursday.

Related Links