Phone: 612-624-5551
24-hr number: 612-293-0831

Advanced Search

This is an archived story; this page is not actively maintained. Some or all of the links within or related to this story may no longer work.

For the latest University of Minnesota news, visit Discover.


A screenshot of the Civil Service Senate voting website.

Elections of CSC representatives to the U Senate are in progress through May 20. Look for an e-mail message with a link to the ballot Web site.

Civil Service Committee update, May 2005

U Senate election in progress, CSC seats filled, input needed for Merit Task Force and CSC comments on strategic positioning, and more

By Dorit Hafner

From Brief, May 11, 2005

Elections and appointments

Thank you from the Civil Service Committee (CSC) to all employees who applied to serve and represent civil service on University of Minnesota governance bodies. There was a great response to our call for volunteers and the committee was able to fill all open positions.

U Senate seats: election in progress

The CSC received 44 applications to fill its 23 new seats in the University Senate. The election process started on May 4 and will end on May 20. Ballots were sent electronically by area of representation. Results will be announced in June and terms start in July. The first Senate meeting will be in September.

Look for the ballot in your e-mail and be sure to submit it by Friday, May 20.

Civil Service Committee

The search committee reviewed 20 applications for the four open positions on the CSC. The committee recommended, and President Bruininks appointed, the following for terms beginning July 1:

Full members: Kathryn Olson, Sharon Beckford, Cathy Marquardt, and Margaret Wolff Alternates: Kenneth Angwenyi, Susan Cable, Rick Densmore, and Gloria Taylor

Call for comments: Rules on telecommuting and on-call work
The CSC Rules Subcommittee is reviewing Civil Service Rules language about telecommuting and on-call work in the next revision. The group is interested in hearing about language that civil service staff members would like to see in the rules, concerns, and thoughts to share. Your input is valuable! The subcommittee needs your expertise on these subjects in order to write meaningful language for civil service employees. Contact Lori Nicol, chair, CSC Rules Subcommittee.

Next CSC meeting
The next CSC meeting is scheduled for May 26, 9 a.m-noon, 225 Kaufert Lab, St. Paul, Twin Cities campus. The University of Minnesota Retiree Association (UMRA) is scheduled to speak 11:30-noon.

CSC subcommittees

Everyone who is a civil service staff member is welcome to join any of the CSC subcommittees. You do not have to be a member of the CSC to serve on a subcommittee. Please check the CSC Web site for information, meeting dates, and times. We would like to see more participation because it gives units and colleges the opportunity to bring their comments and concerns directly to the committee.

U Senate and Assembly subcommittees

The Senate/Assembly subcommittee vacancies were filled as follows:

Advisory Committee on Athletics: Duane Nelson

Disabilities Issues Committee: Maureen McManus and Elizabeth Madson

Finance and Planning Committee: Kathryn Olson

Information Technologies Committee: Deanette Schmidt

Social Concerns Committee: Ben Schnabel

Benefits Advisory Committee: Joseph Jameson (pending final approval by the BAC)

Conflict Resolution Advisory Committee: Patricia Roth

Recreational Sports Advisory Board: Lee Engele

Merit Task Force: helping to manage performance and merit pay

The Merit Task Force (MTF) met for the first time April 13. Its goal is to develop guidelines and templates to assist units and staff in managing performance and merit pay. This includes developing internal human resources procedures and informational resources and developing communication materials for employees and managers.

The MTF receives full support from vice president for human resources Carol Carrier and will work with the Office of Human Resources (OHR), including representatives from OHR consultants, training and development staff, OHR unit professionals, and representatives of the Council for Academic Professionals and Administrators (CAPA). The MTF plans to meet twice a month and to finish the process by November this year. The intent is to divide the task force into two groups: one to work on the merit guidelines and the other to work on performance management.

The task force welcomes participation of any civil service employee who is able to commit their time and bring their experiences to the table. The next meetings are scheduled for May 11, 1-3 p.m., 210 Donhowe Building, when OHR will present the principles of merit; and May 18, 10 a.m.-noon, 317 Donhowe, to define the timeline and specific goals for each group.

Information on meetings of the Merit Task Force will be available soon through a link from the CSC Web site. In the meantime, please contact Dorit Hafner at with questions.

Board of Regents public forum on strategic positioning

The Civil Service Committee plans to present its views about the strategic positioning initiative to the Board of Regents at the public forum May 16, 10 a.m., board room, sixth floor, McNamara Alumni Center. We welcome any comments from our constituency that should be addressed in our presentation. Send your comments to the committee at or to the chair at

Dorit Hafner, 2004-05 chair of the Civil Service Committee, is an administrative professional in the Department of Bio-based Products, College of Natural Resources.

Related Links