Phone: 612-624-5551
24-hr number: 612-293-0831

Advanced Search

This is an archived story; this page is not actively maintained. Some or all of the links within or related to this story may no longer work.

For the latest University of Minnesota news, visit Discover.


Civil Service Committee update: June 2005

Civil service senators, Merit Task Force update, and more

By Dorit Hafner and CSC members

From Brief, June 15, 2005

Congratulations to new civil service senators

Beginning July 1, civil service employees will become part of the U Senate. Congratulations to the following employees, elected by their peers.

Civil Service Committee
Matt Bowers, chair (1-year term)
Peg Wolff, vice chair (1-year term)

Crookston (1 seat)
Gary Willhite (3-year term)

Duluth (1 seat)
Linda Olcott (1-year term)

Morris (1 seat)
Lynn Schulz (2-year term)

Academic Health Center (7 seats)
Barbara Creswell (1-year term)
Beth Hagel (1-year term)
Dee McManus (1-year term)
Michael Nordberg (2-year term)
Amy Olson (2-year term)
Becky Hunt (3-year term)
Lisa Rogers (3-year term)

Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs/Provost (7 seats)
Anne Caton (1-year term)
Suzanne Livingston (1-year term)
Debra Haessly (2-year term)
Bonnie Jude (2-year term)
Wendy Williamson (2-year term)
Teresa Fruen (3-year term)
David Golden (3-year term)

Non-collegiate units (6 seats)
Chuck John (1-year term)
Rick Moore (1-year term)
Anne Falken (2-year term)
Renee Rivers (2-year term)
Bonnie Marten (3-year term)
Patricia Roth (3-year term) Senators are being invited to an orientation session July 27 to meet the CSC and learn more about their role as senators. The session is scheduled for the afternoon at the Continuing Education and Conference Center (formerly the Earle Brown Center) on the Twin Cities campus, St. Paul.

CSC presentation to the regents
The Board of Regents held a public forum on strategic positioning for the University on May 16. Chair Dorit Hafner spoke, representing the CSC. The presentation is posted on the CSC Web site.

Next CSC meeting
The next CSC meeting is scheduled for June 30, 9 a.m-noon, Conference Room C, Campus Club, Coffman Union, Twin Cities campus, Minneapolis. As the last meeting for the business year 2004-05, the committee will discuss its strategic planning. No other presentations are scheduled.

See the CSC calendar to view subcommittee meeting schedules.

Merit Task Force

The CSC's Merit Task Force (MTF) is now meeting regularly. Two groups have been formed: Performance Management and Merit Pay. Each is gathering information on internal and external practices. Results will be discussed at the next meeting and used to develop a questionnaire for internal and external users. In July, the MTF will finalize and send a questionnaire and collect results.

The next meeting is scheduled for June 21, 10 a.m. to noon, 215/240 Donhowe, Minneapolis. Meeting schedule and minutes are now posted on the CSC Web site. The MTC welcomes participation of any civil service employee who is able to commit the time and bring their experience to the table; or send your comments to CSC chair Dorit Hafner at

Civil Service Staff Development Funds still available for fiscal year 2004-05

Enroll in a workshop, seminar, or course and enrich your skills and knowledge. Staff development funds for fiscal year 2004-05 are still available for civil service staff members interested in programs to enrich their skills or knowledge. Funds are available for out-of-pocket expenses of civil service staff members (non-bargaining unit) with an appointment of 75 percent or more. Preference is given to applicants who do not have other sources of funds, such as department contributions. Eligible applicants may apply for a one-time grant of up to $100 per fiscal year. For more detailed information and an application, please go to the CSC Web site.
Dorit Hafner, 2004-05 chair of the Civil Service Committee, is an administrative professional in the Department of Bio-based Products, College of Natural Resources.

Related Links